News


October Dispatch — We know what’s at stake

Enjoy your October Dispatch! This month you can support striking workers, learn about DSA mutual aid, celebrate Indigenous People’s Day, and find out about volunteering opportunities. Read on for more!

FROM MARIA: WE KNOW WHAT’S AT STAKE

Right now in Washington, D.C., politicians are deciding whether you and I — and millions of people — should get lifesaving benefits to help us get through the pandemic and address long-neglected human needs by investing in health care, family leave, education and more.

You’d never know that this is about real people’s lives from turning on the TV or radio. Capitalist-owned media companies tell you the fight is about Democrats in disarray, or about a huge price tag. But the truth is that this is about the entire Republican Party and two Democratic Senators whose wealthy donors want to torpedo programs that would benefit millions of people. The price tag is a fraction of the amount of our tax dollars that go to the military. Yet the corporate media enablers cover this as a horse race while avoiding any mention of what is actually at stake.

This is why DSA exists. While the spin machine is on overdrive, we organize. We’re mobilizing to the picket lines for workplace strikes, knocking on doors to elect working-class politicians who will represent us instead of the rich, and building campaigns to bring the people around us into a long term grassroots force for change in every state in the country. We don’t need to parachute into conservative states. We’re already there. And our chapters are locally rooted and addressing local needs while fighting our global enemy, a capitalist class that would rather let children die a slow death in poverty or be bombed into oblivion than lose their profits.

Let’s keep it up!

Maria Svart
DSA National Director

ACTION ALERT: IATSE STRIKE SOLIDARITY

Members of IATSE — the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees — are preparing for a potential strike across the film and television industries, with a historic authorization vote of 98.68%! Citing brutal conditions like 15+ hour days, inadequate rest periods or meal breaks, and unlivable wages for the lowest paid members, 60,000 IATSE members are fired up and ready to fight back.

How can you help?

If you’re a DSA member who’s also in IATSE, fill out this form to connect with other IATSE members and get organized!

All the links to the above resources (and more) are here. Contact [email protected] if you have any questions about how to support IATSE.

STARTING TONIGHT, THURSDAY 10/7 — MUTUAL AID TRAINING SERIES!

DSA’s Mutual Aid Working Group is hosting a training series this Fall and Winter 2021! Join us on:

      • Thursday 10/7 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT for Recruitment Through Mutual Aid 
      • Sunday 11/7 at 5pm ET/4pm CT/3pm MT/2pm PT for “Brake Light Clinic” Clinic
      • Tuesday 12/7 at 8:30pm ET/7:30pm CT/6:30pm/5:30pm PT for Religion & Mutual Aid

You can sign up for all sessions here.

INDIGENOUS PEOPLE’S DAY SUNRISE CEREMONY MONDAY 10/11 — RSVP TODAY

On Monday 10/11 at 5pm ET/4pm CT/3pm MT/2pm PT, you are invited to join a sunrise ceremony to learn about the obstacles and lack of basic human rights which Indigenous Americans face on a daily basis, as well as how you can act in solidarity with Indigenous groups. The webinar will feature representatives from the International Indian Treaty Council, the American Indian Movement, the Lakota People’s Law Project (which helped organize the fight against the Dakota Access Pipeline and Line 3) and an Elder of the Taino People (the first Indigenous group that Columbus encountered in the Americas). In addition, a portion of the webinar will focus on the effort to Protect Juristac, a site which the media has dubbed “Silicon Valley’s Version of Standing Rock.”

RUN FOR DSA IMMIGRANTS’ RIGHTS WORKING GROUP STEERING COMMITTEE! APPLICATION DEADLINE SATURDAY 10/16

We are looking for some new faces to help head the national DSA Immigrants’ Rights Working Group (IRWG)! The IRWG organizes for the full liberation of peoples impacted by mass displacement, forced migration, and oppression caused by global capitalism and imperialism. We fight to abolish ICE, abolish borders, end detention, end travel bans, and halt deportations.

Nominate yourself via this form and help DSA expand the fight for immigrant rights! The SC is made up of five (5) regional seats or four (4) at-large seats. The application deadline is Saturday, 10/16 at 11:59pm ET.

All IRWG members can vote in the Steering Committee election. An IRWG member is any good-standing DSA member who has signed up for the working group’s membership list. Join the IRWG today! Candidates who are not currently working group members will be opted into the membership list.

SUPPORT THE POST OFFICE AND STOP VOTER SUPPRESSION — SIGN UP FOR TUESDAY, 10/19 DSA4USPS DUMP DEJOY AND PROTECT THE VOTE CALL

Our postal service is facing massive cuts that will slow down service, close post offices, harm unions, and put the agency on a path to privatization. But DSA is ready to fight back. That’s why the Democratic Socialist Labor Commission (DSLC) is inviting you to join our kickoff call for our new DSA for USPS Campaign: Dump DeJoy and Protect the Vote on Tuesday, 10/19 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT. Attendees will learn about our plan to fight these cuts, fire Postmaster DeJoy and how their chapters can start building pressure on our elected officials RIGHT NOW.

JOIN THE DSA TRANSLATION TEAM! APPLICATION DEADLINE SUNDAY 10/31

Our Translation Team is now taking applications! Translators will ensure prompt and ongoing translation of DSA materials, such as statements, pamphlets, organizing guides, action kits, and social media content. While Spanish will be prioritized for 2021-2022, the team will build capacity for more languages as needed and as members are available to help. The Translation team will also translate, review, and ensure chapters and national working groups and committees are supported in their translation needs.

Initial applications are now open until Sunday, 10/31. You can apply here.

NATIONAL TECH COMMITTEE (NTC): NON-TECHNICAL NTC VOLUNTEERS NEEDED

The National Tech Committee needs non-technical people! Let us know if you’d like to mobilize or steward people. Get involved by filling out our Action Network form!

WELCOME OUR NEWEST CHAPTER AND ORGANIZING COMMITTEES

A warm welcome to our newest chapter and organizing committee OCs:

    • Greater Flint, MI Chapter
    • Marin, CA Organizing Committee
    • Tulare County, CA Organizing Committee