News


Free abortion, on demand, without apology — May Dispatch

Enjoy your May Dispatch! This month, defend abortion rights, tell your DSA story, get involved with our Starbucks solidarity work, and more. Read on to get involved!

FROM MARIA — FREE ABORTION. ON DEMAND. WITHOUT APOLOGY. ORGANIZING CALL THURSDAY 5/12

“The Supreme Court is not the court of last resort; the people are.”

Socialist Eugene V. Debs spoke these words on May Day 1919, but his words still ring true. They have the courts, but we have the people.

Free abortion. On demand. Without apology. Will you organize in your workplace, your family, or your community, and fight back? Join us Thursday 5/12 at 8:30pm ET/7:30pm CT/6:30pm MT/5:30pm PT as we commit to defending abortion rights!

PHONEBANK TO ELECT THE GREEN NEW DEAL SLATE! SHIFTS AVAILABLE STARTING THURSDAY 5/5

The DSA for a Green New Deal Campaign is hosting phonebanks to elect the first-ever Green New Deal Slate. Phonebanks happen at least four times a week, so sign up for one now! It’ll take all of us to win a Green New Deal from Coast to Coast!

DSA RECOMMITMENT DRIVE — TELL US YOUR DSA STORY AND SIGN UP TO PHONEBANK! VOLUNTEER SPOTS OPEN STARTING SATURDAY 5/7

Workers are rising up around the country and DSA chapters are returning to in-person meetings, canvasses, and actions. After two long years of pandemic and given the events of this week, it’s time to rebuild, reenergize, and recommit to building working class power — and that means we need to talk to our comrades!

RSVP to join our national Recommitment Drive Phonebank and you’ll be entered into the Recommitment Drive Raffle for a chance to win DSA swag. Phonebanking shifts are available starting this Saturday 5/7. If you can’t make it to a phonebank, submit your DSA story here to share why you’re a member and what you’re fighting for. Better yet, do both — we have a world to win!

NATIONAL ELECTORAL COMMITTEE TRAININGS SUNDAY 5/8 AND WEDNESDAY 5/18 — RSVP TODAY!

Join the National Electoral Committee for our upcoming May trainings!

As always, there will be plenty of time for questions at the end. These trainings are great for folks whose chapters are in the early stages of electoral organizing or those who are thinking about getting involved in the future. Sign up today!

JOIN OUR SOLIDARITY IS BREWING STARBUCKS SUPPORT CAMPAIGN! CHAPTER CALLS BEGIN MONDAY 5/9

Our campaign to support Starbucks Workers United (SBWU) is in full swing, and you can get involved! We have chapter support calls for SBWU every other Monday night, with our next call on Monday 5/9 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT. Check out our campaign page to get your chapter connected.

We’re also looking for volunteers for the national campaign, so if you can commit about 2-5 hours a week, sign up here. Join us!

MUTUAL AID WORKING GROUP BOOK DISCUSSION GROUP AND ROUNDTABLE SERIES

The National Mutual Aid Working Group (MAWG) is excited to invite you to our upcoming events! Join the MAWG Poli-Ed subcommittee for a collaborative reading group, where we’re building a trauma responsiveness toolkit while reading Trauma Stewardship: An Everyday Guide to Caring for Self While Caring for Others. We’ll be meeting Wednesday nights at 8:30pm ET/7:30pm CT/6:30pm MT/5:30pm PT from now until Wednesday 6/8, and you can join us at any time.

MAWG will also be holding a series of roundtable discussions to create a shared understanding of what mutual aid means, how we approach it in DSA, and how MAWG can get us where we need to go. The three-part series will take place on Sundays at 3pm ET/2pm CT/1pm MT/12pm PT starting Sunday 5/15, and will culminate in the drafting of a MAWG Manifesto which will help to guide our work.

MAWG is also excited to be doing lots of work to build toolkits and templates to help chapters identify and map their disaster readiness capacity and build response plans. Climate catastrophe keeps on coming and non-climate disasters happen too, and being ready to care for each other and our communities is necessary. If you’re interested in helping to build this work from the ground up, join MAWG now — we’re open to all DSA members in good standing. If you’re interested in working on mutual aid in your chapter, keep an eye out as we’ll be releasing resources soon!

STAR TREK WATCH PARTY SUNDAY 5/15 — BOLDLY GO WHERE NO ONE HAS GONE BEFORE WITH THE DISABILITY WORKING GROUP!

The Disability Working Group (DWG) has more than doubled in size recently. Join us today to fight for liberation and full inclusion of disabled people in society! We also actively work for inclusion of disabled people in all aspects of DSA. 

And the DWG is boldly going where no one has gone before! Join us as we launch our new series of Star Trek Watch Parties on Sunday 5/15 at 3pm ET/2pm CT/1pm MT/12pm PT. We will be watching an episode or two, then engaging in deep political discussions with comrades about them. Register for our watch party, and live long and prosper!

The DWG also has some vacancies on our Executive Board as well, and are looking for fantastic comrades to fill them, so apply for our Executive Board today!

WEDNESDAY 5/18 — JOIN THE INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE FOR “US MILITARY IN THE PACIFIC: AN ANTI-WAR CONFERENCE”

Join the DSA International Committee and local anti-war activists from the Pacific region Wednesday 5/18 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT for a conference on opposing US militarization, expansionism, and imperialism in the Asia-Pacific region. We will discuss the history and ongoing contemporary struggles against US military presence across the Pacific and the role of the 400+ bases and 300,000+ stationed troops the US controls across the region. Local organizers will detail their campaigns, strategies, and tactics for opposing militarization and growing the left anti-war/anti-imperialist movement.

SUNDAY 5/22 — RSVP FOR THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST LABOR COMMISSION MEMBERSHIP MEETING

Become a Democratic Socialist Labor Commission (DSLC) member today, and join us for the first DSLC Membership Meeting of 2022!

At the meeting, you will:

  • meet the new DSLC Steering Committee
  • find out more about the Solidarity is Brewing campaign
  • learn about logistics organizing through the DSLC
  • get an intro to DSLC bylaws and plan to make any amendments at next meeting
  • discuss building the DSLC into a powerful membership body
  • get DSA in shape to meet the current labor upsurge!

The meeting will be Sunday 5/22 at 5pm ET/4pm CT/3pm MT/2pm PT. Sign up today!

DSA INSIDE BASEBALL CALL SUNDAY 6/5 — BASEBALL, UNIONS, AND FUN!

Join DSA Sunday 6/5 at 7pm ET/6pm CT/5pm MT/4pm PT for an exciting panel featuring union stadium organizers and other special guests! 🌹⚾ Organized by members of the Democratic Socialist Labor Commission, the National Political Education Committee, and the informal baseball caucus.

WELCOME OUR NEWEST DSA CHAPTER

And congratulations to our newest DSA chapter, Cedar Rapids DSA (Iowa)! Welcome, comrades!