News


Your National Political Committee newsletter — Building Resilience

Enjoy your March National Political Committee newsletter! Our NPC is an elected 18-person body (including two YDSA members who share a vote) which functions as the board of directors of DSA. This month, get involved with Starbucks labor organizing solidarity, putting socialists in office, political education, and building resilience in troubled times.

FROM THE NATIONAL POLITICAL COMMITTEE — BUILDING RESILIENCE

Dear comrades,

The past two years of the pandemic have been life-altering. We’ve lost loved ones, the lines around work have been blurred, and the government has shown its willful disregard of our lives over profit. The war machine is loud, the world is on fire, and it’s the working class who have the most to lose. We are all we have. And that reality is even tougher to sit with when many of us have also lost hope. The demoralization is palpable and often leads to us turning inward, slipping into uncomradely behavior, and losing sight of why we are here in the first place.

As the NPC, we are learning the difference between missteps and hard choices. (You can read our official statements about our recent decision on BDS & Palestine solidarity organizing in DSA and the revisiting of that decision here.) While we are still set to debrief as a body what other lessons we can learn from this situation, it should be clear that we recognize our responsibility as political leaders to acknowledge when our decisions have unforeseen consequences or when we are not prepared as a body to support our decisions in a way that enables trust in our actions. As leaders, we pledge to seek mutual understanding, work to gain your trust, and we will do our best to model a culture of healthy engagement that we know is possible in DSA.

This task will be made harder, as we regret to inform you that since our last newsletter, three members of our body — Matt M, Austin G, and Aaron W — have resigned from the NPC. Those of us who remain recognize that serving in national leadership of DSA is an intense and often exhausting responsibility. We thank them for their work and will greatly miss their perspectives on the NPC. Through Article VIII, Section II of the DSA National Constitution, we are charged with appointing members of the organization to fill vacancies on the NPC and to that end, we will soon be opening applications up to all members of DSA in good standing.

But hope is not lost, and if you find yours waning, we hope you turn to the ongoing work in our organization for inspiration and opportunity. This weekend, solidarity is brewing! Our DSLC is holding a Starbucks organizing support call Sunday, 3/27 at 6pm ET/5pm CT/4pm MT/3pm PT to get members involved in our nationally-coordinated solidarity campaign! You’ll hear from Starbucks Workers United (SBWU) speakers, Tom Morello, Sarah Squirm, and our new DSLC Steering Committee on the fight workers are facing and how you and your chapter can help them win.

We know we must build a movement of the whole in order to win socialism. We know we need a multiracial organization in order to achieve our vision. A key question in DSA that is asked over and over again is: “how do we make DSA an organization more reflective of the working class?” The challenge lies in determining how, exactly, we execute this vision. For this reason, we must spend time and energy to develop best practices around multiracial organizing. We are seeking DSA members who can help support this crucial work by joining our Multiracial Organizing Committee (MROC)! Applications are now open and close April 30th.

DSA turns 40 next month, and in a lot of ways, the organization looks vastly different than it did even five years ago. Comrades have left and some did not get to see the world they fought for so diligently… and still, we find hope in the fact that there are still many people who we can ask to join us in our shared fight. Together we will find our way, rebuild trust, become reenergized through exciting and necessary campaigns, and recommit to building the resilient socialist organization we need to take on our enemies and finally win the world we so desperately deserve. Onward.

Courage and care, comrades,

Your National Political Committee

SUPPORT STARBUCKS WORKERS! JOIN OUR SOLIDARITY IS BREWING CALL SUNDAY 3/27

Solidarity is brewing! Starbucks workers around the country are organizing with Starbucks Workers United, and DSA members are here to support them! Join us Sunday 3/27 at 6pm ET/5pm CT/4pm MT/3pm PT to hear from Starbucks Workers United (SBWU) speakers, celebrities, and your new Democratic Socialist Labor Commission (DSLC) Steering Committee about the fight workers are facing and how you and your chapter can help them win. Join our webinar to get involved in our nationally coordinated solidarity campaign.

PUT SOCIALISTS IN OFFICE — ELECTORAL FUNDRAISING TRAINING SUNDAY 3/27, ELECTORAL OFFICE HOURS MONDAY 3/28

This Sunday 3/27 at 7:30pm ET/6:30pm CT/5:30pm MT/4:30pm PT, join members of the National Electoral Committee for a training on the components of a strong electoral fundraising strategy! On this call, you’ll learn about tactics and activities that are the building blocks of successful fundraising, and where they fit best in your campaign timeline. 

Then on Monday 3/28 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT, stop by our monthly office hours to chat with National Electoral Committee members and other DSA comrades to get answers to all your burning electoral questions!

And remember to support our socialist electoral slate. We just added 6 new candidates from NY, running for a statewide Green New Deal!

RSVP FOR ENDING AGEISM WEBINAR TUESDAY 4/5

The past two years have revealed in stark terms how ageism affects access to services including health care. Join Democratic Left and the DSA Fund Tuesday 4/5 at 7pm ET/6pm CT/5pm MT/4pm PT for Ending Ageism, a webinar exploring the intersection of ageism and capitalism and activists’ efforts to address discrimination based on age.

Join us to hear speakers including Margaret Morganroth Gullette, author of Ending Ageism, or How Not to Shoot Old People, Susan Chacin, long-term feminist activist, and Paul Garver, retired labor leader.

Looking forward to seeing you there!

GET YOUR SPRING DEMOCRATIC LEFT — AND SIGN UP FOR OUR NEWSLETTER!

The Spring Democratic Left is out now! Check out this issue’s features on recommitting to win, DSA at 40, chapter work on housing justice, and more. And sign up for our new newsletter to get new Democratic Left articles in your inbox!

WELCOME NEW DSA CHAPTERS

And a warm welcome to our latest chapters!

  • Savannah DSA, Georgia
  • Northeast Pennsylvania DSA