News


An Important Choice — Your February Dispatch

Here’s your February Dispatch! This month, hear our co-chairs on DSA’s budget and organizing, join our school staff network launch, sign up for Green New Deal organizing training, and more. Read on to get involved. 

And to make sure you get our newsletters in your inbox, sign up here! Each one features action alerts, upcoming events, political education, and more.

From Maria — An Important Choice

This is my last Dispatch. The National Political Committee has asked me to stay on for another six weeks to focus on transition work. I agreed because I believe in you.

As our co-chairs Ashik and Megan have pointed out, DSA is at a crossroads. (I bet you will hear more about this tonight on the Fireside Chat!) We face a Christian Nationalist movement and far-right presidential candidate Trump, and a genocide-funding Biden is driving his own re-election chances off a cliff. Just when we need to be our most unified and strong, talking to our neighbors and coworkers and bringing them into campaigns that transform them and build solidarity and working class power, we are instead scrabbling for scraps.

We have nine months until the election, and the clock is ticking. Who in your community outside of DSA is in motion? How does your chapter relate to them, and what’s the plan for the next five months until the Republican and Democratic party conventions? For the next big union contract expiration or new organizing campaign in your state? What ballot initiatives, candidates, or pressure campaigns are you using to build coalitions and trust and flex your grassroots muscle?

Mass work like this is how we build the power it takes to win. It’s how we grow our membership and budget. And it’s how we learn the lessons and mutual respect that helps us work through our internal divisions and forge a stronger whole. 

To reword that famous JFK phrase, consider not what DSA can do for you, but what you can do for DSA. Now more than ever, it’s time to fight for someone you don’t know. 

In solidarity,

Maria Svart
DSA National Director

Tonight Wednesday 2/7 — Join our Fireside Chat with National Political Committee Co-Chairs!

Tonight, Wednesday 2/7 at 9pm ET/8pm CT/7pm MT/6pm PT, join Ashik and Megan, our 2023-2025 National Political Committee Co-chairs, for our February Fireside Chat!

On this call, you’ll hear about:

  • our 2024 national budget
  • the organizing landscape for the year ahead of us
  • the growth and sustainability of our organization’s future

And check out Megan and Ashik’s letter to membership! You can also find their letter on the Discussion Board here.

RSVP for National Labor Commission School Staff Network Launch Thursday 2/8

Join fellow DSA educators and school staff in (re)launching our industry network! The call is on Thursday 2/8 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT. We’ll discuss the education workers unions, reform efforts underway around the country, and school board races happening nationwide!

Starting Thursday 2/15 — Building for Power Strategic Campaign Training Series

Join the Green New Deal Campaign Commission and the Growth and Development Committee to learn about strategic campaigning! Over the course of three sessions (Thursdays Feb 15, Feb 22, and Feb 29 at 7pm ET/6pm CT/5pm MT/4pm PT), we’ll equip you with the political education, tools, and coaching necessary to launch, run, and win a Building for Power campaign. We’re talking about deeply felt demands that will help improve conditions for the working class, while building your chapter’s membership and supporter base at the same time. Join us! 

Join our Budget and Finance Committee Member Call Tuesday 2/20!

Join members of DSA’s Budget and Finance Committee and national staff on Tuesday 2/20 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT for our first quarterly report on DSA’s 2024 budget. We have been working hard to develop our 2024 budget so that we can meet the needs of our growing organization without breakin’ the bank. Hope to see you there — bring all your financial questions! 

Mutual Aid Working Group Takes over Solidarity Dues Sunday 3/3

Join the Mutual Aid Working Group phone banking members about solidarity dues! We’ll be on the Solidarity Dues Call-a-thon Sunday 3/3 at 4pm ET/3pm CT/2pm MT/1pm PT. And give 1% for the 99% by signing up for solidarity dues today!