News


Wins For All of Us — Your National Political Committee newsletter

Enjoy your February National Political Committee (NPC) newsletter! Our NPC is an elected 18-person body (including two YDSA members who share a vote) which functions as the board of directors of DSA. This month, hear about our electoral wins, phonebank for Palestine, sign up for a Green New Deal call, and more!

And to make sure you get our newsletters in your inbox, sign up here! Each one features action alerts, upcoming events, political education, and more.

From the National Political Committee — Wins For All of Us

One of the best things about being a socialist is that any win for the working class anywhere is a win for all of us, everywhere. We’re experiencing that joyful solidarity this month courtesy of Seattle DSA, who helped lead a coalition to raise the minimum wage in the city of Renton, WA via ballot measure. They won big. Starting in July, Renton, home to top military weapons contractor Boeing, will not only have the highest minimum wage in the country ($20.29/hour), but the minimum wage will be reassessed annually and tethered to the cost of living. It’s not just any old reform; it’s an explicitly socialist style of wealth transfer from the bosses to the workers, and we are so proud of our comrades for doing such hard work on this and bringing home such an incredible W.

The NPC was proud to approve two $5000 grants from our National Elections Commission to help fund the work that led to this win — which will now yield millions and millions of dollars for working class pockets. People power goes a long way with massive amounts of member and volunteer labor, but efforts like these can’t succeed without financial support. In order to keep our organization in a financial position to keep leveling up our member-led organizing with resources that go such a long way, we encourage you to become a solidarity dues payer — organized people and organized money get the goods! And join us for our ongoing Solidarity Dues Call-a-Thon on Tuesdays and Sundays, to keep encouraging fellow members to help keep our organization sustainable for the long haul! Callers on these phonebanks are having great conversations with fellow DSA members across the country about the collective, democratic power we are building. DSA’s power as an independent organization is especially important in a national election year, where we can show how we organize for the power we deserve against a political system stacked for the ruling class.

We’re following the lead of our DSA chapter comrades in Michigan, including Rep. Rashida Tlaib, and have joined a coalition to encourage Michigan residents who want to see Biden call for a permanent ceasefire in Gaza to vote “uncommitted” in the upcoming Democratic primary. A number of states, including Michigan, allow Democratic presidential primary voters to vote to send delegates uncommitted to any candidate to the Democratic national convention — which lets voters demonstrate that they hold the power for President Biden’s margin of victory for re-election in November. The Listen to Michigan campaign is sending a message to Biden and the leadership of the Democratic Party that working people are fed up with their government’s support for  Israel’s ongoing genocidal assault of Gaza — these horrors need to stop if they want our votes. The election is on Tuesday, February 27th, so sign up for a phone or text bank today!

In the meantime, keep fighting for someone you don’t know!

Starting Tonight Thursday 2/22 — Phonebank for Listen to Michigan Campaign for Palestine

DSA endorsed Listen to Michigan’s “Vote Uncommitted” campaign last week, an effort to get the supermajority of Democratic voters who oppose Israel’s genocide to vote “uncommitted” in the Democratic presidential primary to send a message to Joe Biden: demand a ceasefire now. We’re running DSA phonebanks into the state, and you can sign up here no matter where you live. Shifts are available starting tonight Thursday 2/22 at 5:30pm ET/4:30pm CT/3:30pm MT/2:30pm PT.

Can’t make it to a DSA phonebank? You can sign up to phone or textbank directly with the campaign here.

RSVP for Wednesday 2/28 Green New Deal Building for Power February Campaign Huddle

Sign up to participate in our Green New Deal Building for Power February Huddle Wednesday 2/28 at 7pm ET/6pm CT/5pm MT/4pm PT! Comrades from Bozeman DSA will talk about last year’s Social Housing campaign. Participants can discuss and ask questions about what went well and what didn’t, and how to pivot campaign strategy or demands.

Support Young Socialists Today!

The Young Democratic Socialists of America (YDSA) Conference brings young socialists from around the country together for political education, organizing training, keynote speeches, and panels that strengthen YDSA’s national organizing. And together, we can make sure cost is never a barrier to participation. Your contribution directly supports scholarships for Conference attendees and ongoing DSA and YDSA organizing to build working class power!

The 2024 YDSA Conference is just weeks away, and we’ve received over $30,000 in scholarship requests. $125 sponsors registration for one student organizer — will you pitch in today to bring young socialists together in Atlanta this March?

PS: You can make a tax-deductible donation to support the DSA Fund’s YDSA scholarship fund here!

Register for Palestine Strategy 101: BDS Training Saturday 2/25

The National Political Education Committee (NPEC) is excited to announce our first training on socialist strategy toward a free Palestine! On Sunday 2/25 at 4pm ET/3pm CT/2pm MT/1pm PT, join the National Political Education Committee and Olivia Katbi, North America BDS Policy Coordinator and co-chair of DSA’s International Committee, on Zoom for a training on strategy toward a free Palestine, with a focus on the BDS movement (Boycott, Divestment, and Sanctions).

We will discuss both big-picture strategy issues (What strategies work well in which contexts? Where does BDS fit into the broader movement for Palestinian liberation? What should DSA members and chapters consider in determining their approaches?) and nitty-gritty best practices (How can DSA members most effectively work with other organizations? What should we keep in mind in terms of language, communications, and emphasis?). There will also be time for a Q&A with Olivia, so come with questions!

Socialism and Queer Liberation Panel Saturday 3/2

Join the National Political Education Committee Saturday 3/2 at 5pm ET/4pm CT/3pm MT/2pm PT for “Marxism and Queer Liberation: Why Socialism Needs Queer Liberation and Queer Liberation Needs Socialism.”

Achieving the liberation of the queer community requires realizing the intersecting nature of all U.S. cultural oppressions — including class oppression — ties the liberation of all to the end of capitalism. Today, queer oppression is being used both to sustain capitalism and to help grow fascism. When so many people must spend their limited resources struggling to survive existential attacks, how does a socialist movement grow and build class consciousness? How has capitalism infected liberal social analysis of so-called “identity politics” and activism in those realms? How can socialism provide a better analysis and reinvent activism in those realms? What can socialism, in general, learn from queer analysis and activism? Join members of the DSA Trans Rights and Bodily Autonomy campaign Saturday 3/2 for these questions and more!

Wednesday 3/6 — Join our Fireside Chat with National Political Committee Co-Chairs!

Join the March Co-Chairs Fireside Chat with the 2023 – 2025 National Political Committee Co-chairs Ashik and Megan! The call will be held on Wednesday 3/6 at 9pm ET/8pm CT/7pm MT/6pm PT. This month, we’ll feature DSA electoral work, including Seattle DSA’s work to raise wages. Join us!

Call for Submissions for Socialist Forum May Day Issue — Deadline Monday 3/11

Socialist Forum, DSA’s quarterly publication featuring articles geared toward strategic and theoretical questions, is currently accepting pitch submissions for our upcoming Spring 2024 issue. We aim to release the issue on May 1st, International Workers’ Day, with a special section on labor and international solidarity. All DSA members are invited to submit a short pitch on these or any other topics of potential interest using this form.

Pitches must be submitted by 11:59pm Pacific time on Monday, March 11th in order to be considered. If your pitch is accepted, the full article should be roughly 2000-3000 words in length. Please note that submissions are not officially accepted until after editors review the first draft of a full article. If you have any questions, please contact us at [email protected].

Switch to Democratic Left Digital!

Our new Editorial Board is working on a Democratic Left relaunch! The next issue will go to press in late March.

Many members have asked how to get their Democratic Left digitally instead of in print. This saves paper and saves member dues! To get your digital Democratic Left, sign up today with your current DSA email address.

Paid for by Democratic Socialists of America (www.dsausa.org) and not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.