News


February Dispatch — Love Each Other, Fight for Socialism

Enjoy your February Dispatch! This month, love, power, and taking action. Read on to get involved!

FROM MARIA: LOVE EACH OTHER, FIGHT FOR SOCIALISM

Would you like $42,000 more in your pocket? If the difference between incomes of the wealthy and the workers was the same today as it was in 1975, you’d have it! The ruling class tells us we face an inflation problem, but we know better. Starbucks is raising prices, blaming supply chain problems and labor costs (hello union busting). Yet their CEO’s total compensation rose to $20.4 million in 2021, a 39% increase. 

The evidence is all around us. The problem is not inflation. It’s power — we don’t have enough of it!

Conditions under this pandemic have prompted many of us to fight back, unite across our differences and build power in our workplaces — including at over 50 Starbucks locations! We also demanded and won significant economic supports, and while they’re expiring now, they were an example that the capitalists can’t let stand.

This week, the Supreme Court moved us closer to permanent minority rule by limiting voting rights in Alabama, the police killed more people with impunity, and the owning class rattled their sabers for more war. The future of our democracy and our planet is at stake. Whether at work, in our communities or in the voting booth, in the economic realm or the political one, the only one who can enforce our rights is us — an independent mass movement.

So, are you talking and listening to people outside of DSA, especially who have a different life experience than you? Are you asking people involved in the past to recommit to this struggle?

Now is the time to spring into action. Too much is at stake, and we have the world to win.

Con cariño,

Maria Svart
DSA National Director

VOLUNTEER DISCUSSION BOARD MODERATORS NEEDED! APPLICATION DEADLINE MONDAY 2/14

Our Communications Committee is working to develop our DSA National Discussion Board as a useful resource for members to learn about socialist organizing, seek and give advice on our work, engage in constructive discourse, and build camaraderie across chapters. We’re looking for volunteers to help moderate the forum — this is an important role!

Check out the application form for moderator expectations, and please apply if you’re interested in helping to make the DSA forum a comradely and welcoming place for our members! The deadline for the first round of applications has been extended to Monday 2/14. Applications after that point will be considered on a rolling basis.

NEW ELECTORAL ENDORSEMENTS — SUPPORT SOCIALIST CANDIDATES TODAY!

The National Electoral Committee is thrilled to announce the first additions to the 2022 socialist slate. Support socialists running for office by chipping in $30 today!

DSA has nationally endorsed two candidates running for local office in Austin and one running for Los Angeles City Council. In Austin, both Bob Libal for County Commission and Andrew Hairston for Justice of the Peace are focused on issues crucial to our working-class base, with Libal taking aim at proposed increases in spending on county jails and Hairston pledging to protect tenants from summary evictions. DSA-LA’s campaign for Hugo Soto-Martinez for LA City Council contests power in the district featuring LA’s greatest density of DSA members — setting a course for firm political leadership.

Donate to DSA’s socialist slate today to boost our inspiring campaigns and show the capitalist class we’re building our working class alternative — every dollar counts!

RSVP FOR IMMIGRANTS’ RIGHTS WORKING GROUP FEBRUARY MEETING THURSDAY 2/17

Sign up today for our Immigrants’ Rights Working Group (IRWG) February General Membership Meeting on Thursday, 2/17 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT! This meeting is an opportunity to share what your chapters are doing.

The IRWG is open to all DSA members. Can’t make the February meeting, but want to join the Working Group? Sign up here!

DSA IS HIRING A NEW FIELD ORGANIZER! APPLY BY TUESDAY 2/18

We’re hiring! DSA is accepting applications for an open Field Organizer position. You can find the full job description here.

More information on this posting and any future openings can be found on our careers page. This application will be open until Tuesday, February 18, 2022. The position is remote, but candidates in the Pacific time zone are highly encouraged to apply!

DSA/IATSE MEMBERS — SIGN UP FOR DEMOCRACY IS POWER READING GROUP STARTING SATURDAY 2/26

Are you a dual member of DSA and IATSE? Join our Democratic Socialist Labor Commission (DSLC) IATSE/DSA member reading group starting Saturday February 2/26 at 1pm ET/12pm CT/11am MT/10am PT! This is our first series, and we’ll be reading the Labor Notes classic Democracy is Power: Rebuilding Unions from the Bottom Up. The Democracy is Power reading group runs for 8 weeks.

We are an informal group of active DSAers who are rank and file IATSE members from locals across the US. We’ve seen recent successful rank and file reform movements organized in the Teamsters, the UAW and many teachers’ unions. And we want to apply the lessons of Democracy is Power to IATSE and to the unique conditions of the entertainment industry!

What would a rank and file controlled union look like? How do we get more members involved? What is a class struggle approach to contracts, leadership, communications, elections, bylaws, and culture? How can we make IATSE a more fighting, democratic, and stronger union? If you’re a member of both DSA and IATSE, RSVP to join the Democracy is Power reading group to discuss these questions and more! When you sign up, we’ll send you a PDF of Democracy is Power, kindly provided from the good people at Labor Notes. For questions, please email [email protected] We hope you can join us!

SATURDAY 2/26 — JOIN OUR RELIGION AND SOCIALISM WORKING GROUP INTERVIEW WITH INDIGENOUS AND PRISONER RIGHTS ADVOCATE LENNY FOSTER

Join South Bay Indigenous Solidarity, the DSA Religion and Socialism Working Group, and DSA Santa Cruz Saturday 2/26 at 6pm ET/5pm CT/4pm MT/3pm PT for a historic interview with noted Indigenous Rights and Prisoner Rights activist Lenny Foster!

Lenny, the retired Director of the Navajo Nation Corrections Project, has served as Spiritual Advisor for over 2,000 Indigenous incarcerated people in 96 prisons, including Leonard Peltier. He has co-authored legislation in New Mexico, Arizona, Colorado, and Utah allowing Native American spiritual and religious practice in prison, resulting in significant reductions in prison returns. He is a board member of the International Indian Treaty Council, a sun dancer, and member of the Native American Church. He has been with the American Indian Movement since 1970 and has participated in actions including Alcatraz and Wounded Knee, and has testified to the United Nations and to the US Congress.

APPLY FOR THE NEW VOTING RIGHTS COMMITTEE’S INTERIM STEERING COMMITTEE! DEADLINE FRIDAY 3/4

Our new Voting Rights Committee is taking applications for members wishing to serve on the interim steering committee. The application deadline is Friday 3/4. If you have interest, capacity, and experience with this work, please apply here. For questions about the Voting Rights Committee, please contact [email protected]

CALL FOR APPLICATIONS — NATIONAL COMMITTEE OF GRIEVANCE OFFICERS

Applications are being accepted for the National Committee of Grievance Officers, a new committee that will organize quarterly meetings for chapter HGOs and develop skill-sharings, trainings, and recommendations on how DSA can better handle conflict. We are looking for HGOs, former HGOs, and those with experience in conflict resolution to join the committee.

To apply, please fill out this form. Applications are open until March 4th at 11:59PM PST. You will need to provide two character references, and will be interviewed as part of the application process. You can expect to spend approximately 5-8 hours per week on CGO responsibilities with meetings usually every two weeks. Questions can be sent to [email protected]