News


April Dispatch — Let’s do it!

Enjoy your April Dispatch! This month, Amazon and Starbucks labor solidarity, organizing training, Green New Deal and political education calls, and more. Read on to get involved!

FROM MARIA: LET’S DO IT!

Are you fired up? Amazon workers in Staten Island, New York just out-organized their bosses against a multi-million dollar war chest and unfriendly labor laws. Workers at over 50 other Amazon warehouses immediately reached out for help, joining the more than 180 Starbucks stores and countless other worksites across industries where people are saying NO to unsafe conditions, offensive pay, and disrespect on the job.

When we talk about the working class in motion, we are talking about people all around us deciding the conditions are right to take collective action. Moments like these cannot be created by DSA, but we can participate and strengthen these currents and bring our own organization — and therefore our own members — town by town, city by city, campus by campus, into the fight.

And while we are but part of the movement, it’s no surprise this is happening after we’ve elected so many socialists to office and run campaigns highlighting collective solutions to collective problems and naming the ruling class as the main obstacle.

Will this be enough to fend off the authoritarian Republican Party come November? Will it be enough to stop the fossil fuel companies and school privatizers and corporate landlords? Only time will tell, but I know for sure it won’t be enough without YOU.

It’s time to rebuild, reenergize, and recommit! I hope you’ll spring into action with us at the Organizing for Power training series starting in May or any of our upcoming work at the local or national level. In the meantime, join Amazon Labor Union’s Angelika Maldonado, Michelle Valentin Nieves and Chris Smalls Monday 4/11 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT to hear how they and their coworkers achieved such a momentous union victory. Never forget that WE DO HAVE THE POWER.

Maria Svart
DSA National Director

STARTING FRIDAY 4/8 — DSA AFROSOCIALISTS & SOCIALISTS OF COLOR APRIL EVENTS

This month, the National DSA AfroSocialists and Socialists of Color Caucus will be having many working group meetings and events ranging from political education, transformative justice, an HBCU national call, and two in-person happy hour events in New York City and North Carolina. You can find a list of the April events and the registration links for each in the Linktree here. Events begin Friday 4/8 and continue throughout the month. Join us!

THURSDAY 4/14 — JOIN OUR GREEN NEW DEAL SLATE LAUNCH CALL!

The Green New Deal Coordinating Committee (GNDCC) is launching our first campaign of 2022: The Green New Deal Slate! We know the fossil capitalist class is not going to wait for us to pass enough weak compromises on the climate crisis to change our world. That’s why we’re building the most powerful, daring slate of candidates yet to win a Green New Tomorrow for all of us. Join us for our launch call Thursday 4/14 at 8:30pm ET/7:30pm CT/6:30pm MT/5:30pm PT to hear from the candidates themselves and learn how you and your chapter can plug in!

Want to jump into the work? Fill out this form and let us know what you’re most interested in helping out with. And join our Slack to stay up-to-date with the latest!

RSVP FOR RECOMMITMENT DRIVE LAUNCH CALL SUNDAY 4/24

Rebuild, Reenergize, and Recommit! We’ve faced crisis after crisis as working class people, but this month we’re coming together to grow our capacity, build our power, and win the world we deserve. Join DSA leadership and special guests for the Recommitment Drive Kickoff Call Sunday 4/24 at 4pm ET/3pm CT/2pm MT/1pm PT! We’re rebuilding, reenergizing, and recommitting to build the multiracial, multigenerational, working class movement we need, and we need you with us! RSVP now, and see you on the 24th!

SIGN UP FOR THE ORGANIZING FOR POWER TRAINING! REGISTRATION DEADLINE MONDAY 5/2

Join our Organizing For Power Training Series on Tuesdays from May 10 through June 14!

We are excited to announce our partnership with the Organizing for Power global training program and invite you to participate, whether you are new to organizing or want to brush up on core skills. Developed by legendary organizer Jane McAlevey in partnership with the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung, this training is about winning, pure and simple. It focuses on building strong organizing by talking to people who aren’t already with us, and together launching strategic, high participation campaigns that are equipped to win… against bosses, landlords and all the others who benefit from exploitation and violence. Learn more here!

This training is free, but registration is required. The registration deadline is Monday 5/2.

NATIONAL TECH COMMITTEE CHESS CLUB SATURDAY 4/9 AND APRIL SOCIAL SUNDAY 4/17

Join the National Tech Committee (NTC) Sunday 4/17 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT for our monthly social!

We’ll meet in gather.town, a place where we can virtually move around and chat with each other! It’s a great chance to connect with comrades in the NTC, hear what people are working on, chat about whatever, and get to know some of our new members. RSVP here! Note: you do not have to be an NTC member to join the social.

Interested in joining the NTC? We need your help! Sign up here.

And join our NTC Chess Club! We’re holding an arena event Saturday 4/9 at 4pm ET/3pm CT/2pm MT/1pm PT on chess.com. Meet members and have fun at a casual, friendly competition. All levels of chess experience welcome!

APPLY FOR THE NATIONAL POLITICAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE! DEADLINE MONDAY 4/25

Join the National Political Education Committee! Applications are open until Monday 4/25.

If you have been organizing political education in your chapter and feel like you could help support chapters all over the country with their political education, consider applying for the National Political Education Committee! The NPEC creates out-of-the-box curriculum materials for chapters around the country to use. We host national (and international) events with a broad range of speakers. We’ve led trainings for chapter leaders and political educators around the country, including how to run a Socialist Night School, how to facilitate, and how to write and give speeches. We have our own political educators’ newsletter, are launching our own podcast next month, and contribute frequently to Democratic Left. If these sound like something you would like to get involved in this year, send us your application!

RSVP FOR RELIGION AND THE LEFT EVENT TUESDAY 4/26 — THE INDIVIDUAL, THE COLLECTIVE, AND THE COMMON GOOD

Join the Religion and Socialism Working Group Tuesday 4/26 at 7pm ET/6pm CT/5pm MT/4pm PT for The Individual, the Collective, and the Common Good, part of our series on what religious traditions can bring to the left. This event will feature representation from a variety of faiths, and will include a wide-ranging discussion on what different faith traditions have to say about our personal obligations when confronted with capitalist individualism. We will discuss the perils of conformity and the importance of personal beliefs as they square with those of others. There will be plenty of time for Q&A and open discussion.

THURSDAY 4/28 — JOIN US FOR RED AND GREEN: A REVOLUTIONARY GREEN NEW DEAL!

Join us Thursday 4/28 at 8:30pm ET/7:30pm CT/6:30pm MT/5:30pm PT for Red and Green: a Revolutionary Green New Deal! This National Political Education Committee event will discuss approaches to winning Green New Deal policies. This will include a case study and perspectives from DSA organizers fighting for a Green New Deal in the United States.

SIGN UP FOR OUR DEMOCRATIC LEFT NEWSLETTER TODAY!

Subscribe to the Democratic Left email newsletter to get articles and insights by DSA members across the United States and the world in your inbox.