News


Your National Political Committee newsletter — Recommit to win!

Enjoy your April National Political Committee newsletter! Our NPC is an elected 18-person body (including two YDSA members who share a vote) which functions as the board of directors of DSA. This month, let’s recommit to organizing!

And to make sure you get our newsletters in your inbox, sign up here! Each one features action alerts, upcoming events, political education, and more.

FROM THE NATIONAL POLITICAL COMMITTEE — RECOMMIT TO WIN!

This year marks 40 years of DSA. As we celebrate our historic birthday, we are also faced with the responsibility of being the largest socialist organization in the country. The world we deserve will not be won alone, and as DSA members, it is our joint project to build the mass organization we need to win. We are grateful to have comrades who have been with us since our founding so we can learn from their resilience and keep the light going for as long as it takes. We hope that you will celebrate this landmark birthday by joining us for the Recommitment Drive launch call this Sunday 4/24 at 4pm ET/3pm CT/2pm MT/1pm PT! We’ll hear from members all across the country about their efforts to meet the moment: solidarity and organizing around existing labor militancy, fighting for a Green New Deal, engaging in multiracial organizing, leading housing justice work, and getting socialists in office.

Soon after, we will be celebrating May Day! There are significant lessons we can take from the four decades of our existence, including where we fit in the larger ecosystem of organizations and movements who have made May Day such a significant day for socialists everywhere. That weekend, we will be coming together for our quarterly NPC meeting to continue our efforts to support chapters in developing members and winning campaigns, continue discussions around how DSA can lead with a positive vision, and what DSA can and should look like five years from now. We have grown significantly since 2017, and we are hopeful about what DSA will be in 2027.

A few of us will be participating in DSA’s delegation traveling to Brazil (alongside members of the International Committee, YDSA’s National Coordinating Committee, and DSA in Office) to learn from political and labor leaders there about building a mass party, fighting the far right, and rooting ourselves in a politics of hope and meeting people’s needs for the long struggle ahead. As Brazilians prepare to head to the polls this October, their choice between rebuilding their democracy or continuing a barbaric slide towards authoritarianism could not be any clearer. Our delegation will aim to learn from the experience of the Workers Party (PT), which in a matter of decades grew from an upstart coalition of socialist and labor activists to governing South America’s most geopolitically important country, and then bring back that information to the US in order to help DSA become a more effective and militant democratic socialist organization. You can support this delegation by donating here!

We find solace in the fact we don’t have to face crisis after crisis alone, and despite some hardships, we are here, forty years strong, because we know DSA is an important vehicle for advancing socialism in the US and for growing solidarity with movements all over the world. We do this with a fixed sense of hope, something indispensable to class struggle, and with a renewed determination to fight like hell.

Solidarity forever, 

Your National Political Committee

P.S. Applications are still open for members in good standing to fill our current vacancies on the NPC. If you think you would be a good fit, send your application to us no later than Thursday 5/5 at 11:59 PM PST.

RECOMMITMENT DRIVE LAUNCH CALL SUNDAY 4/24 — RSVP TODAY!

Rebuild, Reenergize, Recommit! We’ve faced crisis after crisis as working class people, but this month we’re coming together to grow our capacity, build our power, and win the world we deserve. Join DSA leadership and special guests for the Recommitment Drive Kickoff Call Sunday 4/24 at 4pm ET/3pm CT/2pm MT/1pm PT! We’re rebuilding, reenergizing, and recommitting to build the multiracial, multigenerational, working class movement we need, and we need you with us. RSVP now, and we’ll see you Sunday!

APPLY TO JOIN OUR NATIONAL POLITICAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE! DEADLINE MONDAY 4/25

Political educators with initiative and a flare for creativity, from chapters all around the country, are encouraged to apply to the next term of the National Political Education Committee (NPEC)! The NPEC creates out-of-the-box curriculum materials, hosts national (and international) events, leads important trainings for chapters around the country on Socialist Night School, facilitation, public speaking and more. NPEC has a monthly political educators’ newsletter, is launching a national podcast next month, and our members contribute regularly to Democratic Left.

If that sounds exciting, but you’d like to hear more, join us for an informational session and ask your questions! What exactly does our work look like? What could you do? How do we decide on our educational programming? What sort of qualifications would be helpful for candidates to have? How are candidates chosen? How much time commitment is required? Information sessions are available on Saturday 4/23 at 1pm ET/12pm CT/11am MT/10am PT or Sunday 4/24 at 4pm ET/3pm CT/2pm MT/1pm PT. You can choose whichever information session works best for you.

Applications are open through Monday 4/25. Apply here today!

RSVP FOR TUESDAY 4/26 CALL ON RELIGION AND THE LEFT: THE INDIVIDUAL, THE COLLECTIVE AND THE COMMON GOOD

Please join the DSA Religion and Socialism Working Group Tuesday 4/26 at 7pm ET/6pm CT/5pm MT/4pm PT for the new Religion and The Left call on The Individual, the Collective and the Common Good.

This will be an interfaith event featuring Rabbi Robin Podolsky, Dr. James Mark Shields, and Rashad X, who will discuss questions including:

  • How do we balance nonconformity and individual morality against the perils of capitalist individualism?
  • What is the relationship between the individual and the collective?
  • How can religion help build solidarity in pursuit of a greater common good?

There will be plenty of time for Q&A and open discussion.

JOIN OUR “RED AND GREEN: A REVOLUTIONARY GREEN NEW DEAL” POLITICAL EDUCATION CALL THURSDAY 4/28!

Join DSA’s National Political Education Committee (NPEC) Thursday 4/28 at 8:30pm ET/7:30pm CT/6:30pm MT/5:30pm PT to discuss approaches to winning Green New Deal policies! This will include a relevant case study as well as perspectives from DSA organizers fighting for a Green New Deal in the United States.

RSVP FOR ABOLITION WORKING GROUP MEETING CALL THURSDAY 4/28

Join the National Abolition Working Group for our spring General Meeting Thursday 4/28 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT! A comrade from the No New Jails Network will be joining us for part of the meeting to talk about this aspect of abolitionist organizing. We’ll also discuss a toolkit we’re creating focused on abolitionist organizing in DSA, and onboard members into new subcommittees. Looking forward to seeing you there!

SIGN UP FOR OUR HOUSING JUSTICE COMMISSION KICKOFF CALL MONDAY 5/2

Join the DSA Housing Justice Commission Monday 5/2 at 8:30pm ET/7:30pm CT/6:30pm MT/5:30pm PT as we celebrate our relaunch and talk about the changes and the work to come! This term, we’ll begin training tenant organizers across DSA through our new Emergency Tenant Organizing Committee (ETOC). We will also create political education for a socialist vision of housing and tenancy, and create resources for local housing campaign organizers to help them win their battles. RSVP here to save your spot for this important session, and then get ready to dig into the work to make housing a human right.

APPLY TO JOIN OUR MULTIRACIAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE! DEADLINE SATURDAY 5/14

We know we must build a movement of the whole in order to win socialism. We know we need a multiracial organization in order to achieve our vision. A key question in DSA that is asked over and over again is: “how do we make DSA an organization more reflective of the working class?” The challenge lies in determining how, exactly, we execute this vision. For this reason, we must spend time and energy to develop best practices around multiracial organizing. We are seeking DSA members who can help support this crucial work by joining our Multiracial Organizing Committee (MROC)! Applications are now open and close Saturday 5/14. If you have any questions, you can email [email protected].