Leadership and Structure


DSA’s primary political leadership is the National Political Committee (NPC), a sixteen-person body which functions as the board of directors of DSA and is elected every two years by the delegates to DSA’s National Convention. Every DSA chapter is entitled to send a certain number of delegates to the National Convention, based upon the chapter’s size. There are also “at-large” delegates to represent areas where there are no active chapters.

The DSA Constitution:

  • requires that no more than eight NPC members shall be men, and that at least five of the NPC slots be reserved for people of color.
  • gives the NPC the power to charter DSA locals and commissions, as well as DSA’s Youth Section.

The NPC:

  • guides and leads the implementation of DSA’s major political and organizational goals, which are broadly defined every two years by the delegates to the National Convention
  • gives instructions to the national staff about how to carry forward DSA’s day-to-day work.
  • creates task forces and committees to guide particular areas of DSA’s political work.
  • conducts long weekend meetings four times each year.
  • elects five of its members to serve on the Steering Committee (SC). The SC can be emailed at sc(at)dsausa.org. SC members’ names are marked with an asterisk in the list below.

National Political Committee Members, 2023-2025

*Indicates Steering Committee members.

Contact the NPC at: [email protected]

  • *Ashik Siddique, Wilmington, NC, Chair
  • Ahmed Husain
  • *Alex Pellitteri, Brooklyn, NY
  • *Amy Wilhelm, Seattle, WA, Secretary
  • Cara Tobe, Louisville, KY
  • Colleen Johnston, Denver, CO
  • Frances Gill, Los Angeles, CA
  • *John Lewis, Kenner, LA, Treasurer
  • Kristin Schall, Beacon, NY
  • Laura Wadlin, Portland, OR
  • Luisa M., Vancouver, WA
  • Megan Romer, Moravia, NY
  • Rashad X
  • *Renée Paradis, Oakland, CA
  • Rose DuBois, Portland, ME
  • Sam Heft-Luthy, San Francisco, CA
  • *Evan Caldwell, YDSA Co-Chair
  • *Aron Ali-McClory, YDSA Co-Chair

Young Democratic Socialists of America National Coordinating Committee
*Evan Caldwell, Co-Chair
*Aron Ali-McClory, Co-Chair

Democratic Left Magazine |  dl(at)dsacommittees.org
Maxine Phillips, Editor

Green New Deal Committee | greennewdeal(at)dsacommittees.org

National Electoral Committee | nec(at)dsacommittees.org

National Labor Commission |  dslc(at)dsacommittees.org

DSA Weekly Blog
Maxine Phillips, Editor

Visual Design | visualdesign(at)dsausa.org


The elected National Political Committee leads the implementation of DSA’s major political and organizational goals. These are broadly defined by delegates to the National Convention every two years.


The DSA and DSA Fund national offices are located in New York City.

DSA staff does not set the organization’s political goals. Rather, staff helps to fulfill the goals set by DSA’s elected volunteer leadership.

National Director: Maria 


Fiscal Officer & Assistant to the National Director: Heidi 

Financial Analyst: Christian

Revenue Bookkeeper: Tom  

Finance Manager (PT): Fatou 


Organizing Director: Glenn

Organizing Manager: Amy

Labor Organizer: Amanda

Electoral Campaigns Organizer: Michaelangelo

Field Organizer: Hayley

Field Organizer: Patrick

Field Organizer: Alicia

Field Organizer: Tom

Senior Field Organizer: Eric

Senior Field Organizer: Kaitlin

Senior YDSA Organizer: Anna 

YDSA Organizer: Yusuf


Communications Director: Chris

Senior Communications Coordinator: Claudia

Senior Media Coordinator: Rachel

Senior External Communications Coordinator: Priscilla


Development Director: Emma 

Senior Program Associate – Events & Retention: Zachariah

Senior Program Associate – Membership: Elizabeth


Operations Director: Kristina

People Operations Manager: Yasmine

Senior Events Coordinator: Michael 

Senior Chapter Pipeline Coordinator: Dana 

Senior Office Coordinator: Maura 

Compliance Manager: Brandon 

Data Analyst: Eileen 

Organizing Tools Coordinator: Walker 

Database Coordinator: Émilia