DSA Chapter Organizing Call

Are you interested in starting a DSA chapter in your area? Join us for a mentoring conference call. We will talk about DSA's organizing model, our leadership structure, and steps you can take to start organizing in your area. Saturday, November 19th at 3PM ET; 2PM CT; 1PM MT; 12PM PT.

WHEN
November 19, 2016 at 3pm - 4:30pm
WHERE
DSA New Member Orientation
17 RSVPS

Will you come?







Film Discussion: Pride

September 10, 2017
· 44 rsvps

Join DSA members Eric Brasure and Brendan Hamill to discuss the British film Pride (2014). It’s 1984, British coal miners are on strike, and a group of gays and lesbians in London bring the queer community together to support the miners in their fight. Based on the true story of Lesbians and Gays Support the Miners. The film is available for rent on YouTube, Amazon, and iTunes. 8 ET/7 CT/6 MT/5 PT.

Film Discussion: Union Maids

September 24, 2017
· 26 rsvps

 

Join DSA member and labor historian Susan Hirsch in discussing Union Maids (1976). Nominated for an Academy Award, this documentary follows three Chicago labor organizers (Kate Hyndman, Stella Nowicki, and Sylvia Woods) active beginning in the 1930s. The filmmakers were members of the New American Movement (a precursor of DSA), and the late Vicki Starr (aka Stella Nowicki) was a longtime member of Chicago DSA and the Chicago Women's Liberation Union. It’s available free on YouTube, though sound quality is poor. 8ET/7CT/6MT/5PT.