Leadership Positions & Opportunities

LEADERSHIP & STRUCTURE | AVAILABLE OPPORTUNITIES

LEADERSHIP & STRUCTURE

Democratic Socialists of America is proudly grassroots funded and member-run. Our members play a critical role in the leadership and growth of our organization by participating in elected and skill-based or interest-based volunteer positions.
 
National Political Committee, 2015-2017
DSA's primary political leadership is the National Political Committee (NPC), a 16-person body which functions as the board of directors of DSA and is elected every two years by the delegates to DSA's National Convention. Learn more about the duties of the NPC.
 
Jared Abbott, Boston
Hope AdairChicago
Theresa Alt (Secretary Treasurer), Ithaca, NY
David Green, Detroit
José Gutierrez, Washington, D.C.
Elizabeth HendersonPhiladelphia
Frank LlewellynNew York City
Sean Monahan, Providence
Simone Morgen, Columbus
Shelby Murphy, Beaumont, TX
Brandon Payton-Carrillo, Chicago
Joseph Schwartz, Philadelphia
Peg Strobel, Chicago
Russ Weiss-Irwin, Central NJ
Spencer Brown and Kayla Pace, YDS-CC co-chairs

 NPC Steering Committee   |   sc(a)dsausa.org

 
Honorary Chairs
Bogdan Denitch (1929-2016)
Barbara Ehrenreich
Dolores Huerta
Eliseo Medina
Eugene "Gus" Newport
Frances Fox Piven
Gloria Steinem
Cornel West
 
Vice-Chairs
Elaine Bernard
Edward Clark
José La Luz
Steve Max
Deborah Meier
Harold Meyerson
Maxine Phillips
Christine Riddiough
Rosemary Ruether
Joseph Schwartz
Bhaskar Sunkara
 
National Member Organizer   |   memberorganizer(a)dsausa.org
Bill Barclay
 
Democratic Left Magazine   |   dlmagazine(a)dsausa.org
Maxine Phillips, Editor
 
Democratic Left Blog Editorial Committee (#DemocraticLeftDSA)   |   dlblog(a)dsausa.org
Duane Campbell, Editor
Barbara Joye, Editor
Dustin Guastella, Visual Design
Herb Shore, Production
 
Talking Union Blog Editorial Committee   |    talkingunion(a)dsausa.org
Duane Campbell
Paul Garver
 
The Activist Blog (#TheActivistYDS)   |   yds(a)dsausa.org
     
Visual Design   |   visualdesign(a)dsausa.org
Dustin Guastella, Visual Design Coordinator
Sean Monahan, Designer
Peijin Chen, Photograph Archivist
 
Social Media
Catherine Hoffman
Brandon Rey Ramirez
 
Online Organizing
Hope Adair, Local Chapter and Organizing Committee Support
 
DSA Staff
Maria Svart, National Director   |   msvart(a)dsausa.org
David Duhalde, Deputy Director   |   dduhalde(a)dsausa.org
Elena Blanc, Database Manager   |   eblanc(a)dsausa.org
Fatou Camara, Financial Manager   |   fcamara(a)dsausa.org
Claudia Cahill, Grassroots Organizer  |   ccahill(a)dsausa.org
Eileen Casterline, Administrative Coordinator |  ecasterline(a)dsausa.org
Lawrence Dreyfuss, Administrative Assistant |  ldreyfuss(a)dsausa.org
Ryan Mosgrove, Assistant Youth Organizer | yds(at)dsausa.org
Hannah Allison, Travelling Organizer | hallison(at)dsausa.org
 
General Inquiries: info(a)dsausa.org
Membership Inquiries: membership(a)dsausa.org
Volunteer Opportunities: volunteer(a)dsausa.org

 

 

AVAILABLE OPPORTUNITIES

Interested in a leadership position? In addition to looking for local chapter founders, we are always looking for members to get more involved in DSA. Click here to read more about ways to become more active and contact us about your interests.

All DSA leaders are members of the organization. Not yet a member? Join today!

Introduction to Democratic Socialism

July 06, 2017
· 35 rsvps

Join Rahel Biru, NYC DSA co-chair, and Joseph Schwartz, DSA Vice-Chair, on this webinar for an overview of what we in Democratic Socialists of America mean when we talk about "socialism," "capitalism" and the goals of the socialist movement.  8 PM ET; 7 PM CT; 6 PM MT; 5 PM PT.

  1. This webinar is free for any DSA member in good standing.
  2. You need a computer with good internet access.
  3. Your computer must have headphones (preferred) or speakers; you can speak thru a mic or use chat to "speak".
  4. If you have questions, contact Joseph Schwartz, schwartzjoem@gmail.com.
  5. If you have technical questions, contact Tony Schmitt, schmittaj@gmail.com, 608-355-6568.

DSA New Member Orientation Call

July 09, 2017
· 14 rsvps

You've joined DSA - Great. Now register for this New Member Orientation call and find out more about our politics and our vision.  And, most importantly, how you can become involved.  9 PM ET; 8 PM CT; 7 PM MT; 6 PM PT.

Running for the National Political Committee

July 11, 2017
· 4 rsvps

Join this call to hear a presentation and ask questions about the role, duties and time commitment of a member of DSA's National Political Committee. In the meantime, check out the information already on our website about the NPC.

Feminist Working Group

July 12, 2017

People of all genders are welcome to join this call to discuss DSA's work on women's issues, especially in light of the new political reality that we face after the elections.  9 pm ET; 8 pm CT; 7 pm MT; 6 pm PT.

Film Discussion: Pride

September 10, 2017
· 12 rsvps

Join DSA members Eric Brasure and Brendan Hamill to discuss the British film Pride (2014). It’s 1984, British coal miners are on strike, and a group of gays and lesbians in London bring the queer community together to support the miners in their fight. Based on the true story of Lesbians and Gays Support the Miners. The film is available for rent on YouTube, Amazon, and iTunes. 8 ET/7 CT/6 MT/5 PT.

Film Discussion: Union Maids

September 24, 2017
· 11 rsvps

 

Join DSA member and labor historian Susan Hirsch in discussing Union Maids (1976). Nominated for an Academy Award, this documentary follows three Chicago labor organizers (Kate Hyndman, Stella Nowicki, and Sylvia Woods) active beginning in the 1930s. The filmmakers were members of the New American Movement (a precursor of DSA), and the late Vicki Starr (aka Stella Nowicki) was a longtime member of Chicago DSA and the Chicago Women's Liberation Union. It’s available free on YouTube, though sound quality is poor. 8ET/7CT/6MT/5PT.