Leadership Positions & Opportunities



Democratic Socialists of America is proudly grassroots funded and member-run. Our members play a critical role in the leadership and growth of our organization by participating in elected and skill-based or interest-based volunteer positions.
National Political Committee, 2015-2017
DSA's primary political leadership is the National Political Committee (NPC), a 16-person body which functions as the board of directors of DSA and is elected every two years by the delegates to DSA's National Convention. Learn more about the duties of the NPC.
Jared Abbott, Boston
Hope AdairChicago
Theresa Alt (Secretary Treasurer), Ithaca, NY
David Green, Detroit
José Gutierrez, Washington, D.C.
Elizabeth HendersonPhiladelphia
Frank LlewellynNew York City
Sean Monahan, Providence
Simone Morgen, Columbus
Shelby Murphy, Beaumont, TX
Brandon Payton-Carrillo, Chicago
Joseph Schwartz, Philadelphia
Peg Strobel, Chicago
Russ Weiss-Irwin, Central NJ
Spencer Brown and Kayla Pace, YDS-CC co-chairs

 NPC Steering Committee   |   sc(a)dsausa.org

Honorary Chairs
Bogdan Denitch (1929-2016)
Barbara Ehrenreich
Dolores Huerta
Eliseo Medina
Eugene "Gus" Newport
Frances Fox Piven
Gloria Steinem
Cornel West
Elaine Bernard
Edward Clark
José La Luz
Steve Max
Deborah Meier
Harold Meyerson
Maxine Phillips
Christine Riddiough
Rosemary Ruether
Joseph Schwartz
Bhaskar Sunkara
National Member Organizer   |   memberorganizer(a)dsausa.org
Bill Barclay
Democratic Left Magazine   |   dlmagazine(a)dsausa.org
Maxine Phillips, Editor
Democratic Left Blog Editorial Committee (#DemocraticLeftDSA)   |   dlblog(a)dsausa.org
Duane Campbell, Editor
Barbara Joye, Editor
Dustin Guastella, Visual Design
Herb Shore, Production
Willie Thompson, Analytics
Talking Union Blog Editorial Committee   |    talkingunion(a)dsausa.org
Duane Campbell
Paul Garver
The Activist Blog (#TheActivistYDS)   |   theactivist(a)dsausa.org
Sean Bailey, Editor
Visual Design   |   visualdesign(a)dsausa.org
Dustin Guastella, Visual Design Coordinator
Sean Monahan, Designer
Peijin Chen, Photograph Archivist
Social Media
Willie Thompson, Facebook   |   facebook(a)dsausa.org
Online Organizing
Hope Adair, Local Chapter and Organizing Committee Support
DSA Staff
Maria Svart, National Director   |   msvart(a)dsausa.org
David Duhalde, Deputy Director   |   dduhalde(a)dsausa.org
Elena Blanc, Membership Coordinator   |   eblanc(a)dsausa.org
Fatou Camara, Financial Manager   |   fcamara(a)dsausa.org
Claudia Cahill, Grassroots Organizer  |   ccahill(a)dsausa.org
Eileen Casterline, Administrative Coordinator |  ecasterline(a)dsausa.org




Interested in a leadership position? In addition to looking for local chapter founders, we are always looking for members to get more involved in DSA. Click here to read more about ways to become more active and contact us about your interests.

All DSA leaders a members of the organization. Not yet a member? Join today!

Introduction to Socialist Feminism Call

November 03, 2016 · 6 rsvps
Introduction to Socialist Feminism

Join DSA activist Michele Rossi to explore “socialist feminism.” How does it differ from other forms of feminism? How and when did it develop? What does it mean for our activism? 8-9pm ET, 7-8pm CT, 6-7pm MT, 5-6pm PT.


Feminist Working Group

November 15, 2016 · 5 rsvps
Feminist Working Group Call

People of all genders are welcome to join this call to discuss DSA's work on women's issues. We will discuss election results and their implications for DSA's work (30 minutes). Business will include reports on screenings of She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, preparation for April Abortion Access Bowl-A-Thon fundraising, and leadership development (up to 1 hour). 9 pm ET; 8 pm CT; 7 pm MT; 6 pm PT.