Leadership Positions & Opportunities



Democratic Socialists of America is proudly grassroots funded and member-run. Our members play a critical role in the leadership and growth of our organization by participating in elected and skill-based or interest-based volunteer positions.

National Political Committee, 2017-2019 |     npc(at)dsausa.org

DSA's primary political leadership is the National Political Committee (NPC), a 16-person body which functions as the board of directors of DSA and is elected every two years by the delegates to DSA's National Convention. The NPC elects five of its members to serve on the Steering Committee (SC). The SC can be emailed at sc(a)dsausa.org.

The YDSA Co-Chairs also serve the NPC and SC, but are elected by YDSA members.

Learn more about the duties of the NPC.

The YDSA Co-Chairs share one vote.

Currently one spot on the NPC is empty.

Ravi Ahmad, New York City
Theresa Alt (Secretary-Treasurer), Ithaca
Delé Balogun, Chicago
Christian Bowe, Central New Jersey
Allie Cohn, Knoxville
Zac Echola, Red River Valley (SC)
Jeremy Gong, East Bay (SC)
Catherine Hoffman, Detroit
Ella Mahony, New York City
Chris Maisano, New York City
Natalie Midiri, Philadelphia (SC)
Christine Riddiough, Washington, D.C. (SC Chair)
Joseph Schwartz, Philadelphia (SC)
R.L. Stephens, Houston
Ajmal Alami, YDSA Co-Chair
Michelle Fisher, YDSA Co-Chair

Non-staff members of work committees are listed below. Members of the NPC are listed with an (*).

Young Democratic Socialists of America National Coordinating Committee
Ajmal Alami*, Co-Chair
Michelle Fisher*, Co-Chair
Democratic Left Magazine   |   dlmagazine(at)dsausa.org
Maxine Phillips, Editor
Democratic Left Blog Editorial Committee (#DemocraticLeftDSA)   |  dlblog(at)dsausa.org
Medicare For All Steering Committee   |   medicareforall(at)dsausa.org 
Jeremy Gong* (chair)
Chris Riddiough*

Democratic Socialist Labor Commission    |    DSLC(at)dsausa.org

National Electoral Committee  |   elections(at)dsausa.org 
Christian Bowe* (co-chair)
Chris Riddiough*
Talking Union Blog Editorial Committee   |    talkingunion(at)dsausa.org
Duane Campbell
Paul Garver
The Activist Blog (#TheActivistYDS)   |   yds(at)dsausa.org
Visual Design   |   visualdesign(at)dsausa.org
Dustin Guastella, Visual Design Coordinator
Andy Pressman
Social Media
Catherine Hoffman
Brandon Rey Ramirez
DSA Staff
Maria Svart, National Director  
Sasha Hammad, Operations Director part time [on temporary leave]
Eileen Casterline, Database Coordinator   
Fatou Camara, Financial Manager part time  
Claudia Cahill, Grassroots Fundraising and Member Engagement Coordinator 
Lisa Flores, Administrative and Office Coordinator  
Lawrence Dreyfuss, Program Associate
Ryan Mosgrove, Organizer 
Anna Bonomo, Organizer 
Hannah Allison, Traveling Organizer  




Interested in a leadership position? In addition to looking for local chapter founders, we are always looking for members to get more involved in DSA. Click here to read more about ways to become more active and contact us about your interests.

All DSA leaders are members of the organization. Not yet a member? Join today!



New Member Call, April 22

April 22, 2018

April 22, 2018

9pm ET/8 CT/7 MT/6 PT

Click to RSVP

You've joined DSA - Great! Now register for this New Member Orientation call and find out more about our politics and our vision. And, most importantly, how you can become involved.

Click to RSVP