Leadership Positions & Opportunities

LEADERSHIP & STRUCTURE | AVAILABLE OPPORTUNITIES

LEADERSHIP & STRUCTURE

Democratic Socialists of America is proudly grassroots funded and member-run. Our members play a critical role in the leadership and growth of our organization by participating in elected and skill-based or interest-based volunteer positions.
 
National Political Committee, 2015-2017
DSA's primary political leadership is the National Political Committee (NPC), a 16-person body which functions as the board of directors of DSA and is elected every two years by the delegates to DSA's National Convention. Learn more about the duties of the NPC.
 
Jared Abbott, Boston
Hope AdairAtlanta
Theresa Alt (Secretary Treasurer), Ithaca
David Green, Detroit
José Gutierrez, Washington, D.C.
Elizabeth HendersonPhiladelphia
Frank LlewellynNew York City
Sean Monahan, Providence
Simone Morgen, Columbus
Brandon Payton-CarrilloAtlanta
Joseph Schwartz, Philadelphia
Peg Strobel, Chicago
Russ Weiss-Irwin, Central NJ
Shelby Murphy and Jack Linares, YDS-CC co-chairs

 NPC Steering Committee   |   sc(a)dsausa.org

 
Honorary Chairs
Bogdan Denitch (1929-2016)
Barbara Ehrenreich
Dolores Huerta
Eliseo Medina
Eugene "Gus" Newport
Frances Fox Piven
Gloria Steinem
Cornel West
 
Vice-Chairs
Elaine Bernard
Edward Clark
José La Luz
Steve Max
Deborah Meier
Harold Meyerson
Maxine Phillips
Christine Riddiough
Rosemary Ruether
Joseph Schwartz
Bhaskar Sunkara
 
National Member Organizer   |   memberorganizer(a)dsausa.org
Bill Barclay
 
Democratic Left Magazine   |   dlmagazine(a)dsausa.org
Maxine Phillips, Editor
 
Democratic Left Blog Editorial Committee (#DemocraticLeftDSA)   |   dlblog(a)dsausa.org
Duane Campbell, Editor
Barbara Joye, Editor
Dustin Guastella, Visual Design
Herb Shore, Production
Willie Thompson, Analytics
 
Talking Union Blog Editorial Committee   |    talkingunion(a)dsausa.org
Duane Campbell
Paul Garver
 
The Activist Blog (#TheActivistYDS)   |   theactivist(a)dsausa.org
Sean Bailey, Editor
     
Visual Design   |   visualdesign(a)dsausa.org
Dustin Guastella, Visual Design Coordinator
Sean Monahan, Designer
Peijin Chen, Photograph Archivist
 
Social Media
Willie Thompson, Facebook   |   facebook(a)dsausa.org
 
Online Organizing
Hope Adair, Local Chapter and Organizing Committee Support
 
DSA Staff
Maria Svart, National Director   |   msvart(a)dsausa.org
David Duhalde, Deputy Director   |   dduhalde(a)dsausa.org
Elena Blanc, Membership Coordinator   |   eblanc(a)dsausa.org
Fatou Camara, Financial Manager   |   fcamara(a)dsausa.org
Claudia Cahill, Office Administrator   |   claudiadsausa(a)gmail.com

 

 

AVAILABLE OPPORTUNITIES

Interested in a leadership position? In addition to looking for local chapter founders, we are always looking for members to get more involved in DSA. Click here to read more about ways to become more active and contact us about your interests.

All DSA leaders a members of the organization. Not yet a member? Join today!

Starting a Local Chapter from Scratch (9pm Eastern)

October 04, 2016 · 4 rsvps
Webinar, RSVP required for sign in information

So you are now a member of DSA, but there is no local chapter where you live. You are thinking of starting a local chapter, but you're not quite sure how to do it.

In Starting a Local Chapter from Scratch you will learn:

  • how other locals got started in recent years
  • how to find out who is already a member
  • the importance of a comrade
  • how to recruit new members
  • the importance of a mentor
  • how to become a recognized organizing committee
  • how to become a chartered local
  • what works best to bring new people in.

Join us for our latest organizing training for democratic socialist activists: DSA’s (Virtual) Little Red Schoolhouse.

Instructor:

  • Steve Max, DSA Vice Chair and one of the founders of the legendary community organizing school, The Midwest Academy

Training Details:

  1. Workshops are free for any DSA member in good standing.
  2. You need a computer with good internet access.
  3. Your computer must have preferably headphones or else speakers; you can speak thru a mic or use chat to "speak".
  4. If you have questions, contact Theresa Alt talt@igc.org 607-280-7649.
  5. If you have very technical questions, contact Tony Schmitt schmittaj@gmail.com 608-355-6568.
  6. You can participate in every webinar or just attend once in a while.
  7. Workshops will generally be on weekends or evenings.
  8. Participation requires that you register at least 45 hours in advance -- by midnight Sunday for Tuesday's webinar.

NOTE: This training is scheduled for 9:00pm Eastern Time (8pm Central, 7pm Mountain, 6pm Pacific, 5pm Alaska, 3 pm Hawaii).

Share

DSA New Member Orientation Call

October 19, 2016 · 12 rsvps
DSA New Member Orientation

You've joined DSA - Great. Now register for this New Member Orientation call and find out more about our politics and our vision.  And, most importantly, how you can become involved.  8 PM ET; 7 PM CT; 6 PM MT; 5 PM PT.

Share