Leadership Positions & Opportunities

LEADERSHIP & STRUCTURE | AVAILABLE OPPORTUNITIES

LEADERSHIP & STRUCTURE

Democratic Socialists of America is proudly grassroots funded and member-run. Our members play a critical role in the leadership and growth of our organization by participating in elected and skill-based or interest-based volunteer positions.
 
National Political Committee, 2015-2017
DSA's primary political leadership is the National Political Committee (NPC), a 16-person body which functions as the board of directors of DSA and is elected every two years by the delegates to DSA's National Convention. Learn more about the duties of the NPC.
 
Jared Abbott, Boston
Hope AdairChicago
Theresa Alt (Secretary Treasurer), Ithaca, NY
David Green, Detroit
José Gutierrez, Washington, D.C.
Elizabeth HendersonPhiladelphia
Frank LlewellynNew York City
Sean Monahan, Providence
Simone Morgen, Columbus
Shelby Murphy, Beaumont, TX
Brandon Payton-Carrillo, Chicago
Joseph Schwartz, Philadelphia
Peg Strobel, Chicago
Russ Weiss-Irwin, Central NJ
Spencer Brown and Kayla Pace, YDS-CC co-chairs

 NPC Steering Committee   |   sc(a)dsausa.org

 
Honorary Chairs
Bogdan Denitch (1929-2016)
Barbara Ehrenreich
Dolores Huerta
Eliseo Medina
Eugene "Gus" Newport
Frances Fox Piven
Gloria Steinem
Cornel West
 
Vice-Chairs
Elaine Bernard
Edward Clark
José La Luz
Steve Max
Deborah Meier
Harold Meyerson
Maxine Phillips
Christine Riddiough
Rosemary Ruether
Joseph Schwartz
Bhaskar Sunkara
 
National Member Organizer   |   memberorganizer(a)dsausa.org
Bill Barclay
 
Democratic Left Magazine   |   dlmagazine(a)dsausa.org
Maxine Phillips, Editor
 
Democratic Left Blog Editorial Committee (#DemocraticLeftDSA)   |   dlblog(a)dsausa.org
Duane Campbell, Editor
Barbara Joye, Editor
Dustin Guastella, Visual Design
Herb Shore, Production
Willie Thompson, Analytics
 
Talking Union Blog Editorial Committee   |    talkingunion(a)dsausa.org
Duane Campbell
Paul Garver
 
The Activist Blog (#TheActivistYDS)   |   yds(a)dsausa.org
     
Visual Design   |   visualdesign(a)dsausa.org
Dustin Guastella, Visual Design Coordinator
Sean Monahan, Designer
Peijin Chen, Photograph Archivist
 
Social Media
Willie Thompson, Facebook   |   facebook(a)dsausa.org
 
Online Organizing
Hope Adair, Local Chapter and Organizing Committee Support
 
DSA Staff
Maria Svart, National Director   |   msvart(a)dsausa.org
David Duhalde, Deputy Director   |   dduhalde(a)dsausa.org
Elena Blanc, Database Manager   |   eblanc(a)dsausa.org
Fatou Camara, Financial Manager   |   fcamara(a)dsausa.org
Claudia Cahill, Grassroots Organizer  |   ccahill(a)dsausa.org
Eileen Casterline, Administrative Coordinator |  ecasterline(a)dsausa.org
Lawrence Dreyfuss, Administrative Assistant |  ldreyfuss(a)dsausa.org
Ryan Mosgrove, Assistant Youth Organizer | yds(at)dsausa.org
Hannah Allison, Travelling Organizer hallison(at)dsausa.org
Membership Inquiries: membership(a)dsausa.org
General Inquiries: info(a)dsausa.org

 

 

AVAILABLE OPPORTUNITIES

Interested in a leadership position? In addition to looking for local chapter founders, we are always looking for members to get more involved in DSA. Click here to read more about ways to become more active and contact us about your interests.

All DSA leaders are members of the organization. Not yet a member? Join today!

Introduction to Democratic Socialism

February 27, 2017
· 7 rsvps

Join Rahel Biru, NYC DSA co-chair, and Sean Monahan, Providence DSA and National Political Committee member, on this webinar for an overview of what we in Democratic Socialists of America mean when we talk about "socialism," "capitalism" and the goals of the socialist movement.  9 PM ET; 8 PM CT; 7 PM MT; 6 PM PT.

  1. This webinar is free for any DSA member in good standing.
  2. You need a computer with good internet access.
  3. Your computer must have headphones (preferred) or speakers; you can speak thru a mic or use chat to "speak".
  4. If you have questions, contact Sean Monahan, sean.yds@gmail.com.
  5. If you have technical questions, contact Tony Schmitt, schmittaj@gmail.com, 608-355-6568.

DSA New Member Orientation Call

March 02, 2017
· 26 rsvps

You've joined DSA - Great. Now register for this New Member Orientation call and find out more about our politics and our vision.  And, most importantly, how you can become involved.  8 pm ET; 7 pm CT; 6 pm MT; 5 pm PT.

What Is DSA? Training Call

March 07, 2017
· 65 rsvps

If you're a new DSAer, have been on a new member call, but still have questions about DSA's core values/strategy/core work and how to express these ideas in an accessible way to the media, as well as to friends, family and others who might be interested in joining DSA, this call is for you. 

We will talk through the basics of DSA's political orientation and strategy for moving toward democratic socialism, and also have call participants practice discussing these issues with each other. By the end of the call you should feel much more comfortable thinking about and expressing what DSA does and what makes our organization/strategy unique. 8 pm ET; 7 pm CT; 6 pm MT; 5 pm PT. 70 minutes.

Feminist Working Group

March 07, 2017
· 40 rsvps

People of all genders are welcome to join this call to discuss DSA's work on women's and LGBTQ issues, especially in light of the new political reality that we face after the elections.  9 pm ET; 8 pm CT; 7 pm MT; 6 pm PT.

LGBT Activism: A Brief History with Thoughts about the Future

April 01, 2017
· 19 rsvps

Historian John D'Emilio's presentation will do 3 things: Provide a brief explanation of how sexual and gender identities have emerged; provide an overview of the progression of LGBT activism since its origins in the 1950s, highlighting key moments of change; and, finally, suggest what issues, from a democratic socialist perspective, deserve prioritizing now. John co-authored Intimate Matters: A History of Sexuality in America, which was quoted by Supreme Court Justice Anthony Kennedy in the 2003 Lawrence v. Texas decision that ruled state sodomy laws unconstitutional. 1 pm ET; 12 pm CT; 11 am MT; 10 am PT.

  1. This webinar is free for any DSA member in good standing.
  2. You need a computer with good internet access.
  3. Your computer must have headphones (preferred) or speakers; you can speak thru a mic or use chat to "speak".
  4. If you have questions, contact Peg Strobel, peg.strobel@sbcglobal.net.
  5. If you have technical questions, contact Tony Schmitt, schmittaj@gmail.com, 608-355-6568.